cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MS-SQL backup without using SQL agent

gregb
Not applicable

Hi all

I have a UNIX master/media server running 6.5.1. I'm running a backup of a Windows client (6.5.1) which is running MS-SQL. I get the error "The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process" error for some mdf and ldf files. 

Is there a way to backup an MS-SQL database without using the NetBackup SQL agent? Can I stop and/or backup the database as part of some pre-backup scripts?

Has anyone done this?

Cheers

Greg

3 REPLIES 3

Andy_Welburn
Level 6

Our DBAs have arranged 'alternative' backup methods for our SQL d/b's (not a DBA myself so can't comment!).

Consequently, we use NB to save the 'backup' area that they have created and exclude all mdf/ldf files within the backup policy.

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6

I have lots of sql db's but don't use the NB agent.

the dba's create a "backup" dir.

and set up a job that does an sql db backup to the backup dir.

( I make sure I know what time the backup to disk finishes)

I set up an SQL policy (name only) that just does a backup of those servers AFTER I know the backup to disk has finished.

if they need a restore - they have last nights still on disk.

if they need something older, I just restore to a restore dir and let the dba's take it from there.

(FYI - I do almost the same thing for  oracle and informix - where we have a cron job that starts the bacukp to disk, then the script kicks off a user backup of just that dir to tape.  You could do the same thing with SQL - just work with the dba's on the script and set up a policy for user backups.)

Just be sure to exclued the contents of the SQL Data dir - where you get all the errors from open files.

Omar_Villa
Level 6
Employee

1. run a SQL dump backup (if your DB is not too big)

2. backup the folder where the dump is stored