cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Monthly Tape Rotation

Chris_Czosnek
Level 2
Hello everyone.  I'm extremely new to Netbackup so please be gentle!

We currently have a nightly backup rotation consisting of ten tapes (NET01 - NET10).
Our backups run and the tapes are swapped out each night with the next in the rotation.
When each tape comes back around in the rotation it is quick erased to be used again (unless it's a month end tape).

At month end we pull two of the tapes for off-site and on-site storage and create two new tapes to put back into the rotation. 

I have read a lot about Netbackup not being the best for supporting only one tape drive but that's all we are using. 

We previously used Backup Exec where I would just pull the two month-end tapes.... label two more new tapes..  and they would be all set to go.  After these new tapes were labeled I was still able to search through my previous backup jobs for files I needed to restore and whatnot.

My questions are:
     1.)  If I pull a tape at month-end and de-assign the media (Ex. NET08 using bpexpdate -d 0 -m NET08 -host xxxxxx) to make a new tape with that label....  will I still be able to search for files on the previous NET08 tape?  ....or will record of this backup be wiped out so I have to run through the import wizard?

2.)  Is there a better way to be having a rotation like this which will give me the ability to search through all my previous backups for a file to restore?  It would be a pain to need to know the approximate month to import that tape.

I'm sure I'm going about this completely the wrong way.  Any help with my particular situation would be greatly appreciated.  
6 REPLIES 6

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6
a Red Flag when up when I read that you deassign a tape and put one in with the same barcode......

You will get a lot of suggestions...
but you should use the software you have.

1) set up the policy/schedule with a retention... say your week nights are 2 weeks.