cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving NetBackup master server to new server.

Amin123
Level 4
Partner
Hi,
I have a master server NBU 6.5 in windows 2003 platform, if I need to move NetBackup master server to new server with the same paltfrom windows 2003. what is the best stpes of doing so.
I will keep the same host name.
Also if I need to move to new platform windows 2008. Also what is the steps needed for that.

Thanks,
Amin
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
Hi Amin
Have a look at Chapter 7 (Dissaster Recovery) in the Troubleshooting Guide. As the new server will have a fully functional O/S, look at the section in this chapter called 'Recovering the master server with Windows intact'.
The process for moving to 2008 will be pretty much the same - just take note that NBU server is only supported on x64 O/S. There is a new 64-bit NBU 6.5.4 version. Have a look at this thread for more info: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/nbu-654-win2008x64

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
Hi Amin
Have a look at Chapter 7 (Dissaster Recovery) in the Troubleshooting Guide. As the new server will have a fully functional O/S, look at the section in this chapter called 'Recovering the master server with Windows intact'.
The process for moving to 2008 will be pretty much the same - just take note that NBU server is only supported on x64 O/S. There is a new 64-bit NBU 6.5.4 version. Have a look at this thread for more info: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/nbu-654-win2008x64

g_man1
Level 3
I just did a similar upgrade -- going from W2k3 to 64 bit W2k8.

My process went something like this:
1. Present tape library and drives to new server
2. Setup persistent binding for tape drives
2. Run catalog backup on master
3. Unjoin master from domain, change name, and IP