Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NBSHAREDDISK with HP EVA fails to detect EVA

KeirL
Level 6
Partner
Hi
I'm trying to configure  the Netbackup Snapshot client to work with our HP EVA 5000. I have set up a test environment running 6.5.1A under eval license (so I assume I have all the licenses I need installed) in which i have a Windows 2003 master\media server, a Windows 2003 media server and a windows 2003 NBU client all of which are SAN attached. I've been following the instructions in the NBU Snapshot client admin guide and have installed the snapshot client in the NBU client, and also HP SSSU on the client. We have a dedicated HP EVA command view server and this also has SSSU installed.
I added the host name of our Command View server into the NBU credentials with the correct username and password and have tested these by running SSSU with these credentials on the Command View server - I can connect, select the storage system and run commands fine so I think the credentials are valid. However, when I run the NBSHAREDDISK LIST command from the NBU master server it doesn't return the EVA array details (I just get an empty table returned).
Can anyone suggest what I can try?
Which log file may show me what's going on in the background? I do have logging enabled but don't know where to look.
I've also tried to configure the NBU client as the Disk Array Host (as this too has SSSU installed) but that doesn't make any difference.

Many Thanks
Keir
4 REPLIES 4

Omar_Villa
Level 6
Employee
try creating the bpdm log at verbose 5, that should help.

KeirL
Level 6
Partner
Thanks Omar
I tried that but nothing gets logged. I don't think I'm that far down the line yet.