cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NetBackup 7.1 & vStorage Problem

Jaykullar
Level 5

Hi All,

I've been given a environment which i need to backup VM's.

I have my Master Server, and my Media Server, i use the Media Server as the VM Backup Host. There is a FW inbetween the Master & Media however relevant ports are open, the Virtual Centre Server is also FW'd off from the Master, but is in the same domain/teir as the Media Server. So the Master Server has no access to the VCS.

When adding credentials i am getting the following error: VMware Validation Error: Incorrect host name, cannot connect to Virtual Machine Server.

I have specified to use the Media Server to validate with, but does the Master Server need to have access to the Virtual Centre Server?

Conenctivity from the Media and VC Server's is fine, they are in the same domain, the name i have of the VCS is correct i have checked within VC, and the credentials are also correct.

I cannot see any further issues from the NetBackup side of things, anyone experienced this or have any idea's?

Thanks

Jay

9 REPLIES 9

Jeff_Foglietta
Level 5
Partner Accredited Certified
The master server needs to see the client. Configure your networking so that the VCS can reach the master servers network and vice versa.. Be sure to use vnetd for communication.

Jaykullar
Level 5

Thanks Jeff, I will put in a request to get the FW opened up from the VCS to the Master Server bi, going to be a tough one due to security. Im surprised the media server cannot be used for communication, as it is the backup host also and used for validation of credentials. But them in guessing its saying "cannot connect" because the Master's network does not have an entry in DNS for the VCS..hmmm

Is there a specific reason the Master Server needs to speak to VCS? Is there no way around it?

Thanks.

Jeff_Foglietta
Level 5