cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scratch pool in NetBackup Administration 7.5

Thirun
Level 2

Hello,

I'm new to the NetBackup, need to clarify how the NetBackup working with DataDomain. The DataStore pools have 1140 virtual virtual tapestapes, Scratch pool have 487 virtual tapes, ToRemove pool have 207 virtual tapes. But DataDomain is struggling over a month over 90% full, and yesterday 98% full. My question is, why it did not pull(used) the tapes from Scratch or ToRemove pool ? Does it need a manual intervention to activate these virtual tapes?

Thank you

Regards,

Thirun

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

With this question:

Are all media in Scratch the same density as VTL tape drives and in the same robot?

I actually meant media type in NBU -
hcart? hcart2? hcart3? Something else?

I have no idea what you mean with this answer:

NBU will only pull from Scratch when no media is available in required pools.

>>  if so, why its not pulled when it was 98%, then to 100%, need a reboot to hick the backups again.

VTL is seen as tape.
NBU has no insight into underlying disk capacity.

available_media is a script on the master server in ....\veritas\netbackup\bin\goodies that you can run from cmd.
If the command produces a lot of output, best to redirect output to a file.
So, if you have C:\Temp folder, you can cd into the goodies folder, then run the command :
available_media > C:\Temp\media.txt

>> how to check the disk-type??

You have missed the point that I was trying to make. VTL is configured as TAPE, so, not possible for NBU to check.

Only if DD is presented to NBU server as DISK, not TAPE, only then can NBU manage disk capacity.

>> how can I label the tapes in scratch pool

Right-click on media-id, select Label. 

Quite a number of posts in this forum where users have created scripts:

is there an easy way to recycle VTL tapes, to free space