cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Status 59: access to the client was not allowed

sudu_mlk
Level 5
Hello,

I am using veritas netbackup 5.1 on windows 2003 server.

when i checked jobs in the netbackup master server i found one of the linux server is failed with 59 status code that is access to the client was not allowed.

i am new to linux and i accessed the server via putty and i saw netbackup client is installed.

how to check the netbackup services are running on this linux host? and how to troubleshoot this?

Thanks!!!
Sudarshan

16 REPLIES 16

quebek
   VIP    Certified
Hey
Please checkout the mentioned file, specially the SERVER = entry.
Verify if there is Your Master server name in the very first line, and if You do have any media servers check if in the next lines thay are named, i.e.
SERVER=maserNBU
SERVER=media1
SERVER=media2
CLIENT=YOUR_CLIENT_HOSTNAME

Later on please validate the DNS names resolution. in /usr/openv/netbackup/bin should be a command bpclntcmd - use this command to do so.

CY
Level 6
Certified
Status 59 means "The master or the media server tries to access the client, but the client does not recognize the server as a valid server."

It is more likely that your Linux client's bp.conf file does not have the correct NBU server names listed there.

Check  /usr/openv/netbackup/bp.conf  on the client

and see the "SERVER = " entries

You should have

SERVER = master_server
SERVER = media_server1
SERVER = media_server2
(etc., depends on how many media servers you have...)

sudu_mlk
Level 5

i have opened the path /usr/openv/netbackup/ and now am seeing the bp.conf.

how to open and edit this bp.conf file, as i told you am new to linux?

--
sudarshan 

quebek
   VIP    Certified
use vi - editor
usefull commands in vi
i - to start inserting text
esc + :wq - to write and quit the file

if You will need more assistance run man vi on the command prompt of linux

to see contents of bp.conf file run
cat bp.conf