cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape inventory

ChrisKaiser01
Level 3

Hi everyone,

I have added few tapes to the TLD and when i'm doing the tape inventory, It doesnt show the new volume added and says "volume is up to date!" i wanted some help to how to add the tapes in the tape library(in case i did it wrong, and i am new in netbackup) and then do the tape inventory correctly. It's netbackup 8.0 and its on Windows Server 2008 R2. Your help will be really appreciated.

Thanks.

Chris.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hey Guys, sorry i didnt give you a feedback! i've been really busy...The problem was fixed, apparently that library is getting old and has an error 4781, we logged a call with IBM..so in the meantime we manually rebooted the library, and we were able to do the inventory from the library and on Netbackup. Thank you very much for your help guys.

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22

Mouse
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

did you put the new tapes to a mail slot? if yes, you need to tick the box that says 'empty media access port prior to update'

I did tick the "empty media access port prior to update" but i cant see the new added tapes!

Marianne

Please tell us more about your tape library and where exactly you inserted the tapes.

Did you put the tapes in in the Media Access Port?
Or did you open the robot door and inserted the tapes in empty slots?

Larger tape libraries have 'maintenance' slots that is not shown to the backup application.

Do you have a list of barcode labels that you inserted?
Does the tape library have a web interface? If so, can you use this interface to see in which slots the tapes are? 

Mouse

There are just two options, either the tapes are already in the volume database so they can be seen in Media or they cannot be seen by the robot for some reasons, barcode issues, etc.