cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape rotation strategy in Netbackup

newww
Level 3

Hello,

I’m quite new to NetBackup and am in the process of setting up a tape rotation strategy. We have a Quantum autoloader 3 with a bar code reader TS3310 tape library and we’re using NetBackup 6.5. Our media is barcoded.

I already configured the GrandFather-Father-Son strategy in Backup Exec and I want to do the same with netbackup. How can I configure this tape rotation?

Thanks,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

rizwan84tx
Level 6
Certified

You may deploy all your tapes in Scratch pool; and you dont have to assign a media everyday to required pool. Netbackup will automatically assign a media from scratch to the volume pool required for the backup job.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

In NetBackup a policy determines the what, where, how frequent/long. Where the data goes in determined by the storage unit and volume pool, what is determined by the client and backup selection (file list), and how frequent/long is determined by the schedule.

You'll want to create 3 different schedules (in each policy) that possibly point to 3 different volumes pool (daily, weekly, monthly).

Check the admin guide for these concepts and you'll figure it out.

Kernel_Panic
Level 4

When I was a backup admin, one of my customers told me to keep a single tape for each day in the same volume pool. The best way for this is to create the volume pool scratch and use it as well, so don't use a fix rotation.

Why I'm telling you this? coz if you need a particular tape for each day you'll have to freeze another ones, expirate some other and it's kind disturbing to do that while you have the chance to use scratch.