cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best column layout for troubleshooting in activity monitor

thahif
Level 3

Hello Experts,

I am a beginner, prevoiusly i was working in different backup tool. I get confused when i troubleshoot failures in activity monitor. I am not sure what is the best view( like sort via end time or sort via policy etc)  to be selected while troubleshooting any backup failure.

Can some one help here.

Regards,

Thahif

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Andy_Welburn
Level 6

the most important thing to be looking at would be the job details for the specific failed jobs.

In which case probably best to look at filtering options? Filter by client for the failed job - sort by whatever method suits (policy, start time etc) as it may be that those failed jobs restarted & completed successfully under a different job id.

Job details, problems report & error logs (depending on which process actually failed) to actually troubleshoot the failure.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

falti_manullang
Level 5
Partner

How about use the sort option ? see the picture below.

Thanks,

Falti manullang

Andy_Welburn
Level 6

the most important thing to be looking at would be the job details for the specific failed jobs.

In which case probably best to look at filtering options? Filter by client for the failed job - sort by whatever method suits (policy, start time etc) as it may be that those failed jobs restarted & completed successfully under a different job id.

Job details, problems report & error logs (depending on which process actually failed) to actually troubleshoot the failure.

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6

When troubleshooting the backups of one server - first filter for only that client name.

Then sort by job id - this allows you see failures and successes in chronological order.