cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

duplication jobs / writing to tape / status 96

lovethatcheese
Level 5

Prob a pretty basic question  -

I have all of my tapes in the NB pool, which is final destination in staging. 34 are currently 'Full', while 5 are 'Active' with a low number of images / kbs compared to full tapes.

Between the 5 active, all retention levels are included (1-3). If a tape is set to 'active', does that mean it will still accept images from duplication jobs? Or are these tapes no longer available, if they are not empty at the start?

When it comes to these 5 active tapes, if they can still be written to, are they selected via existing image retention level on tape? (I do not have option for multple retention on same tape enabled in options).

I find myself above high water mark (running 7.5 / basic disk / solaris master) and no tapes to write to, which is not where I want to be.

I'm still learning NB, so if anyone could shed some light on this, it would be greatly appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Active tapes (not Full, Frozen, Suspended, Imported) can be appended to.

If you have multiple media servers, media sharing is not enabled by default. So, once a tape is 'assigned' to server1, only server1 can append to this tape. The other requirements are that the pool must be the same, the tape must be in the robot requested by Storage Unit, and the retention level must match.

Media sharing is a big advantage and recommended. Allowing multiple retentions per media is possible, but NOT recommended.

This Status 96 troubleshooting wizard starts with a great explanation of how media is selected:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=answers&type=wizard&wizardid=NBU090&wizardstepid...

Great blog explaining how tapes are written: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/blogs/understanding-how-netbackup-writes-tape

Hope this helps!

lovethatcheese
Level 5