cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

nb catalog more than 5TB

Albatross_
Level 5

Hi,

I have one master server with 7.5 running on redhat 5.8 including media server.

another 4 media servers with same 7.5 version with linux os and one windows os.

No of NB clients are 2000.( exchange, sql , vms, oracle, bmr ). Also have 4 NDMP Datadomain.

I have been told that we are having more than 4.5 TB of catalog (  I am new to env and waiting for the access to servers / got access to opscenter readonly )

Any suggestions / recommedations how do we migrate to newer version.

few of my peers says migrating catalog with 4.5 TB is highly impossible, we need to prune the catalog to migrate, Is that true ?

If Yes, the best methods to prune the catalog ?

How to migrate the the NB version to 7.7.

Awaiting for replies

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

I don't agree with :

"Few of my peers says migrating catalog with 4.5 TB is highly impossible, we need to prune the catalog to migrate, Is that true ?"

However, I would agree that 4.5 TB Catalog is unusual.

The problem with a large catalog is speed:

Some commands will take longer, for example, image cleanups.

The biggest issue however is backup and recover.  It's going to take a good few hours the downtime needed to restore a catalog of this size, if every required, may be longer than your management would allow.

Why is to so large, are you keeping many backups for Infinity that you don't need to ?

Either way, you have 4 options:

1.  Get rid of some backup images if not required

2.  Build a new master and start using that 

3.  Archive parts of this catalog, as per the NetBackup Admin Guide (See section about protecting the catalog).

4.  Catalog compression

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Best to get access and see for yourself.