cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

open text file which was backed up via netbackup

elahe89
Level 3

Hi ,

Sorry if my question is very naive! but I'm a newbie and I need some help.

I've backup a text file from a directory in one of my Linux machines via NetBackup, each backed up file is saved as two .img and .info files in a media server. How may I open my backed-up files in their original format? (.txt in this case)

on the other hand, I need to automate this task, If I want to be more clear about my scenario, I've to say that I have a script that I use to backup my Oracle database, in this script a log file generates which logs the RMAN acticitiy in /tmp directory. I want this log to be back up each time the policy calls the related script.

I hope I could elaborate enough on my problem.

Thank you so much  

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Nicolai
Partner    VIP   

Hi @elahe89 

"no world champ has ever dropped from the sky"  :)

Image files at the media server, is not intended to be opened  and edited while being "data at rest". The image file includes data itself but also the file system metadata like permissions share right or/or ACL's. If the data is backup of a databases, data in the images files are a bit stream and not regular files.

Netbackup uses a modified version of tar (nbtar) to store data on both disk and tape drives.

If you need the data, is better (and supported) to be conduction a re-directed restore using the bprestore command.

https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/doc/123533878-127136857-0/v123543657-127136857

and it's recommended to know altnames as well. altnames is used to provide restore right for clients.

https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/doc/18716246-126559472-0/v41612926-126559472

Best Regards
Nicolai

View solution in original post

Nicolai
Partner    VIP   

Hi @elahe89