cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

oracle Stream-based operations vs Oracle file-based operations with snapshot client vs run netbackup command(N:\oracle\scripts\db_full_backup.cmd)

cc83
Level 2

Hi

I am new to Netbackup software.  I have read the "Symantec NetBackup for Oracle Administrator's Guide"

Q1) When i run this script N:\oracle\scripts\db_full_backup.cmd, is it oracle Stream-based operations backup or Oracle file-based operations with snapshot client?

Q2) The pro of running Oracle stream-based operations is that Rman will only backup the blocks that are used for example if the data file is 32 GB but 10 GB is used. Rman will only backup 10 GB .  Correct me if i am wrong.

Q3) The pro of Oracle file-based operations with snapshot client, the netbackup media server will directly backup the data file to the tape drive instead of waiting for rman to send the data.  COrrect me if i am wrong.

If you all have something to add on for example pro or con, please do so.  Thank you for your help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Q1) When i run this script N:\oracle\scripts\db_full_backup.cmd, is it oracle Stream-based operations backup or Oracle file-based operations with snapshot client?

A1) You would need to select snapshot backups in the policy and have backup proxy in script for it to be a file based backup

Q2) The pro of running Oracle stream-based operations is that Rman will only backup the blocks that are used for example if the data file is 32 GB but 10 GB is used. Rman will only backup 10 GB .  Correct me if i am wrong.

A2)  It is possible to do incrementals with both stream and file based backups

Q3) The pro of Oracle file-based operations with snapshot client, the netbackup media server will directly backup the data file to the tape drive instead of waiting for rman to send the data.  COrrect me if i am wrong.