cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

x2 Media servers, 1 Robot, intermittent issues with path/comm's

JaquesC
Level 4

Hi there,

Want to keep this as simple as possible, I have a master and media that use the same robot, master is the control host, last 3-4 days both have been struggling to communicate with robot, in NBU paths are all up, not showing any signs of issues/errors, master seems to be the one that has much more issues with comm's with the robot as the media, did all the basic checks and troubleshooting, most of the jobs are in a "mounting" state and never start writing, in the logs the tape gets re-requested the whole time, I can see the tape gets assigned and its in the drive, however still just mounting and never starts.

Yesterday as an example the master suddenly started writing, only one job though.

Very confused and because jobs failing, causing me fairly big ammount of problems with business. Assistance please guys if you can.

NBU 7.5.0.5 Server 2008 R2 Standard

DELL ML-6000 library FC connected

9 REPLIES 9

Nicolai
Partner    VIP   

Do you see the robot going to down state or is it a tape drive only issues ?

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Have you tried to test tape mounts outside of NBU with robtest?

See this TN:

Robtest commands that can be used to test the SCSI functionality of a robot 
http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH83129

Once a tape is loaded, open another cmd and issue 'vmoprcmd -d' command.
(Command is in same path as robtest - <install-path>\veritas\volmgr\bin)

Does the output reflect the media-id in the correct drive?

From your description, it sounds if Persistent Binding is not in place. Without this, there is a big possibility that device paths will change during a reboot.
Check the Support site for the hba's in your master and media servers for Persistent Binding instructions.