Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have I missed something VBR 6.5

Kenneth_Hansen
Level 6
Partner
Hi,

I am new to VBR and need a bit of help.
First my VBR server is a Windows 2003 server, and I am trying to connect to a Solaris 10 Master server Netbackup 6.5

I've configured my agent on the VBR server to connect to my netbackup server on default ports.
CORBA 7806 and Server port 1556.
When clicking on "Show agent status" in VBR Console under global setting - agent setting I get a error message:

There was an error while getting complete module status for agent.
Error Message : Retries exceeded, couldn't reconnect to "IP_ADR":7806 "HOSTENAME"

Doing a telent from my VBR server to master server on port 7806 I get connection refued and no prosesses are listening on that port on my master server.

This is where I guess I fall of the configuration part. I can not find any information stating that i should install any pack's on my master server for VBR?
Am I supose to? Or is there something else I've missed?

Thanks!!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

jnardello
   VIP    Certified
Good job checking the communication through the NetBackup commands - that was going to be my next suggestion. =) 

Since your VBR agent server is authorized to your Master, that just leaves the agent configuration to check on.

Go in and edit the agent setup for that Master (Settings-->Global Settings-->Agents--><agent server name> --> <master server name>)

Double-check the 'Home Directory' and 'Volume Manager Home' fields. Those should be the location where NetBackup is installed on the agent server (which confused the heck out of me initially). Basically this is so the agent software can call all the NB commands to run against Masters. Also make sure the 'EMM Server Host' field is filled out correctly with the name of your Master.