cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec - keeps changing tape from Scratch to Keep data for 4 weeks

Quick_erase_not
Level 3

I'm pretty new to Backup Exec but I'm trying to figure something out. I inventoried the tape drive device, and it showed me the tape that's in the device itself. I went ahead and associated it with a media set - scratch media.

However, when I go to set up a new backup... Under "Destination > Devices and Media Sets" there's no option for Scratch Media. It only shows an option for Keep Data for 4 weeks, and Keep Data Infinity - Do Not Allow Overwrite.. I have a feeling this is what's changing the tape's media set.

I'm basically just trying to back up to this tape with unlimited overwrites. How do I do that? This is a bit confusing.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ken_Putnam
Level 6

So what you're saying is I can't, by default, use scratch media for every back up job?

let's define some terms here

scratch tape - a tape not in a defined media set or one that has passed the OPP of the media set it belongs to

overwritable tape - a tape in a defined media set that has passed the OPP

From tools\options\media management you can select to either use overwriteable media in the target media set first, or scratch media first

I basically want a backup job that will just fill up a tape and overwrite the oldest data first. 

if you mean fill up a tape, and then go back and overwrite the beginning of the same tape, can't be done, since tape is sequential access.  When you write the beginning of a tape, whatever is in the tape becomes basically inaccessible to standard access.  A data recovery service MAY be able to get it off, for a price

If you have 5 tapes and want to use one every Monday, one every Tues, etc., set the OPP for the media set to 6 days an you should be good to go

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Ken_Putnam
Level 6