cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot use foreign media...

Lee_Burdick
Level 3
Hey all, I'm new to Backup Exec so I'm assuming (and hoping) this will be something quick and painless.

I just replaced an HP Autoloader that used OmniBack II with a Quantum SuperLoader 3 that came bundled with Backup Exec 10d for Windows Servers. I've installed the hardware, got all updates for BE and my SCSI adapter, and things seem to be running fine as far as the program communicating with the device and vice versa.

The one thing I did not do when making this purchase was buying new media. I've got roughly 30 DLT IV's from my HP Autoloader, so I opted to use them. BE sees the tapes and I can Import them and move them between Media Sets, but if I try to do anything else with them, such as Erase or backup a couple of files, I get either a "The media is write protected" or "Media ### is overwrite protected." I figured it would be just a matter of formatting the tapes, but the option to Format is grayed out and not available. And yes, I have checked to make sure the tapes aren't physically write protected.

Thanks in advance for your help.
12 REPLIES 12

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Make sure that you set the Global Overwrite Protection to "partial"

if it is set to FULL, Backup Exec will not overwrite tapes created outside of this installation of BackupExec

Cycle the services (just for good luck :) ) then inventory one of these tapes, and it should show in BLUE (overwriteable)

Lee_Burdick
Level 3
Thanks for the response Ken.

I've tried setting the options to both 'Partial' and 'None'. Both methods show the media in blue, like you pointed out, however, BE still returns the same errors or messages that the media is read only or write protected.

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Stay away from NONE. You may as well keep an EXCEL spreadsheet