cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full Backup to Incremental Backup

TelecommAnalyst
Level 3
Hi, Quick question (I am new to backupExec)

I need to perform a fresh new backup. No backups were ever run since the software was installed. I would like to perform incremental backups. Do I set a full backup one night and then incremental the next night? Or do I just schedule an Incremental from the start? Will an incremental backup job perform a full backup first? I would like to keep it automated.

20 REPLIES 20

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
AFAIK, you must run at least one Full before either an INCR or a DIFF will work.

Even if you plan to do mainly INCR backups, you should do periodic FULLs, since in case of a Distaster Recovery Scenario,  you need the last full and all subsequent INCR, in order, to get back to where you were.

infrastructure1
Level 3
Ok to directly answer your question, Yes, an Incremental backup will work without a "Full" being run first, HOWEVER, standard procedure is to run a "Full" before any "Incremental" or "Differential" backups. Then you also want to schedule regular (weekly/Monthly) Full backups of the selection list. This allows you to do a complete restore without having to maintain all of your Incremental backups forever. (Read more here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backup#Data_repository_models)

You really want to understand the basics of backups before trying to implement a backup strategy. It can be catastrophic to your company and your career to THINK you are safely backed up, then find out you aren't.

If you'd like more help, reply and i can give you plenty of links. (It's a topic I'm highly interested in currently).

TelecommAnalyst
Level 3
Thanks for the reply. Currently, I set it up to perform a full backup Friday night and incremental until the next Friday where I will do another Full backup again a week later, thus weekly full backups with incremental in between.