cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Microsoft Information Store vs. Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes/Public Folders

Dave_infla
Level 2
I'm new to version 10.1d and it's been awhile since I've had to backup an exchange server, so excuse the ignorance in advance.

What's the difference between the check box for the "Microsoft Information Store" and the two boxes for "Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes" and "Microsoft Exchange Public Folders"?

I'm able to backup the later two with the file open option active, but the "Microsoft Information Store" pukes. I did read a note that I should be using VSS to backup the Exchange Store, but I thought that's what the Mailboxes and Public Folders were!?

I'm confused, please explain.

Thanks,
7 REPLIES 7

Dave_infla
Level 2
Anyone?

sammyc53
Level 5
I think your question needs clarification. I have no idea what you are asking :)

Sorry.

Dave_infla
Level 2
When setting up a Job, under selections, the first two items listed are:

"Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes"
and
"Microsoft Exchange Public Folders"

Towards the bottom of the selection list I find the following listed:

"Microsoft Information Store"
with the "First Storage Group" listed below it
and "Mailbox Store (servername)" and "Public Folder Store (servername)" below it

They both appear to be the same items, albeit the first set at a root selection level and the later nested, I'm confused, why both?

I am able to backup the items labeled "Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes" and "Microsoft Exchange Public Folders" with the Advanced Open File Option turned on, but I have to turn AOFO off to backup the selection labeled "Microsoft Information Store"

Please explain why these seem to be duplicates and if they are, why can I backup one with AOFO turned on and the other I can't?

And why ARE they listed twice?

Thanks,

Dave

Deepali_Badave
Level 6
Employee
Hello,

Please refer the BE admin guide for detailed information: