cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Here

Keith_Wahl
Level 3
I am new to the world of Backup Exec and tape drives. My company just purchased both and put me in charge!! I installed the product with default settings, went through the wizards, and have been unable to get anything to work. The only job that completes successfully for me is an Inventory job. Does anyone have the time to walk through my setups or can you point me in the direction of any guides that can help me out? I am usually pretty good at figuring out a piece of software but this one has me baffled and I know it's not hard. I used the Admin Guide every step of the way but must be totally missing something!!

Plesae help!!
8 REPLIES 8

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
What errors do you get when you try to run a backup job

Anything on the Alerts Tab

Any EventLog entries that might apply?

Keith_Wahl
Level 3
Thanks for the response, Ken.

A backup job always gets caught up on Job Status: Loading Media. The error from the alerts tab reads, "The media in drive 'Quantam 1' is written in an unrecognized format. Erase the media to make it usable."

I don't always have the option to erase the media from the Devices tab. Sometimes it is greyed out, sometimes it is not.

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Hmmm

Were these tapes previously used with another backup system/product?

Are you able to re-label these tapes, or does that fail also?

You used to be able to to an "NTBackup /nopoll" to comletely ignore whatever format was on the tape and relabel, but that option disappeared when W2K come out

You may be forced to buy a batch of new tapes if all else fails.

Keith_Wahl
Level 3
These are supposed to be brand new tapes. I feel that I am doing something incorrectly or didn't set something up correctly because I can't even erase the media. When I try to run an erase media job, I receive the error: Incorrect function. I also get that error when I try to relabel the media.

Keith_Wahl
Level 3