cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No backup scheduled job completed

Omar_Cantoro
Level 3
Hello, i'm new to this program - i just "imported" a new customer and he has a Win2003r2 with BackupExec10.1.
Well, since a couple of weeks program just cannot complete scheduled process.
Process was created by another consultant and it worked fine.
BE just reaches the time out period for completing the process after 12 hours - it's like he's waiting for something, but i have no message.

Don't know if this is a coincidence, but as far i can remember, it all started since we changed old tapes with new ones.

Maybe they should be prepared somehow?

Please anyone can help me telling me more about procedures to plan a scheduled backup?

thanks!
11 REPLIES 11

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Are you doing anything to the new tapes, or just putting them in the Drive\Libarary?
Is anything backed up at all?

Are there any active alerts?

Omar_Cantoro
Level 3
I didn't anything to tapes, just put them into drive device...

process seems to start "counting" amount of MB to backup, and then hangs when complete to count.

i can see an alert saying to insert a writable tape...

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
i can see an alert saying to insert a writable tape...

That's the problem then.

When you change tapes you need to inventory the drive/slots. If your jobs are overwrite, and the tapes appear in black after the inventory, you need to drag the tape to the scratch media set, since BackupExec has the tape flagged as not overwritable (Overwritable tapes will appear in Blue)

Omar_Cantoro
Level 3
thanks for your reply.
I can see a lot of media under "all media" (I have to deal also with those ugly translations since software is in Italian lang).
Same media are in "off line media" - I can't distinguish anymore which are new and which are old ones.

Under the column "add data until" (or something like this in english) many media are marked as "full", so no data can be appended to this.