cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replace Media

Mark_Saltissi
Level 2
Can anyone help me figure out how to replace media using BE V9 please?. I just want to replace a few tapes from a Weekly incremental backup without having to set the whole thing up from scratch.

Each tape is labeled and only these tapes can be used on there corresponding day. I tried labeling a new one and replacing it in the media set but it didn't pick it up.

Any help will be appreciated, Thank You

p.s. I am new to Backup Exec and cant find any info for doing this via the net or the two books supplied with BE.
4 REPLIES 4

Amit_Gupta_2
Level 4
What can be understood from the problem, it seems that you want to used different tapes for the backups and after you label and assign them to media sets the jobs does not pick up those tapes.
IF this is the case then you are not confguring the jobs properly.
After the media is labeled, the media is a scratch media and is overwritable, not appendable. If you make that media a part of scratch media, that media take the property of that media set( mean its Overwrite prootected or appendable as per the properties of that media set).
If you want to use a particular media to be used in the backup job, configure the media as scratch media, make the job overwritable (make sure no other media is overwritable), run the bakcup job. It should pick up that media only.

Mark_Saltissi
Level 2
Thank you for your response. I tried what you said but I didnt leave it in scratch media. I copied it over to our usual media set but it didnt work. I got the error:

"Error - Mount failed.
User canceled a Physical Volume Library operation."

Should I have left it in Scratch media and would the scheduled job have picked it up?

I will now further clarify the problem: