cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

finding advices for backup strategy

Phu_Nguyen
Level 4

Hi All,

I am new to backup world, so it is helpful if you can give me advices on how to decide a backup strategy if the requirements are:

1. Off-site archieve backup yearly
  2. Off-ste archieve backup monthly
  3. Be able to restore at any point in time within 30days

Note: i am using BE2012 + 24 slot Dell tape library - LT05

What i think now is to creat media set as below and backup schedule accordingly

1. Yearly backup (Full backup) : at the last Friday of year ( Saturday and Sunday are weekend, no need to backup)
    - Overwrite protection : no overite
    - Append period : 2 days ( it takes 2 days for backup full system)
  2. Monthly backup (full backup): at the last Friday of month. But if it is the last friday of year, yearly job will take place
    - Overwrite protection : 1 year ( this tape can be used for next year, for example "January")
    - Append period: 2 days
  3.   Weekly backup (full backup): at every friday. But if it is the last friday of year or month, yearly or monthly job will take place
    - Friday1: OPP = ??? ; APP = 2 days 
    - Friday2: OPP =???; APP = 2days
    - Friday3   OPP= ???; APP = 2 days
    Note: i am sure which is the approriate number for OPP of friday1...3. Can you advices me on this?
  4. Daily backup ( incremential backup)
    - Happen from Monday to Thurday
    - Use 16 tapes, each for Monday1, Tuesday1,..... Wednesday4, Thursday4.
    - OPP : 1months, APP: 1 day

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,

Tho

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

Unfortunately, there is no perfect way in an imperfect world to set the OPP.  For your example, you can reduce the OPP to 3 weeks to make the tape overwritable.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

pkh
   VIP    Certified

For your weekly tape, you need to keep it for a month to coincide with your daily backups.