Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Prevent caching of ArchiveExplorer.asp

Miyamoto
Level 3
Hello Everyone

This is my first time so be gentle.
I am currently administering a pilot of Evault (V6) that currently has 80 users. We are just about to upgrade to V7 and after a cooling off period, plan to go into live, which will encompass 60,000 mailboxes. It has been decided by the powers that be, that the 24hr refresh of the ArchiveExplorer.asp page is not appropriate and they are suggesting adding 4 lines of code to the page that will prevent it caching at all, so that users always have a current view of the archive. I have my reservations regarding this change and would appreciate your opinions on this course of action.
Thanks in advance for any time given to this post.
11 REPLIES 11

MichelZ
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified
Hi

That's a tricky one.
The answer you probably don't wanna hear: it depends.
It depends on the number of EV Servers you have, on the storage, and so on.

It will have an impact on the performance for sure.
How about a caching of 2 or 4 hours, that at least subsequent archive explorer access is cached?

Additionally, I'd recommend to open a call at Symantec and hear what they say to this.
60k seats is a lot.

Cheers
Michel

cloudficient - EV Migration, creators of EVComplete.

jimbo2
Level 6
Partner
I agree with Michel.

80 Users is a simple setup and (1) EV server is a no brainer.

You will be dealing with design issues such as number of indexing servers, separate journal servers if you are journaling, ect

If you have not already done so, you may want to contact Symantec Pro Services.

I do not have any input on the refresh.

Jim S.

Maverik
Level 6
Hello,