cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Report suggest SIS is used, vaults say no....

Kellino
Level 4

Dumb newbie question probably but I can't reconcile this none the less.

I'm looking at an EV9 environment I inherited and on each store partition the following options are NOT checked:

• Device performs data deduplication
  • Device performs data compression

All the stores are configured this way.  Being a newbie, my initial intepretation is that SIS is not turned on.  However.....

If I select the vault store group and right click it, the top 2 options are to run SIS reports from that context.  Looking at either of these reports shows me detailed stats including how much space has been saved by using SIS and/or compression.

In other words the reports suggest to me that SIS & compression are being used, but I can't find a single volume/partition that has the SIS & compression options enabled.

Where did I go astray? :)   Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

GertjanA
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hi Kellino,

You're looking in the wrong place. The settings you described are only used if you use a device for storage that does de-duplication by itself (Centera/DataDomain etc)

What you need to check is the following:

Expand the console until you see the Vault Store Groups

Click o 1 of the gorups in the left. In the right pane, you will see the Vault Stores being in a group. If you check, it will show there (scroll if needed!) what the sharing is.

Additionally, if you have access to you SQL server, check in the SQL-manager for databases called EVVSGxxxx where xxxx is the name of the vaultstoregroup.

Additionally, rightclick a VSG in the console, and select properties. There is something about sharing there too.

Last, click HELP, and start reading ;)

GJ

Regards. Gertjan

Kellino
Level 4

Oh I've been doing a lot of reading and not just help files :)