cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Symantec....why

Stephen_Lindo
Level 4

So I've gone to 2.6.0.2 now that Heartbleed has been addressed.  Why has root been taken away?  I know how to get it back but taking away root is like selling me a car then not letting me drive it.  As a former UNIX admin, I only run NBU on UNIX platforms and I am ALWAYS super-user.

20 REPLIES 20

D_Flood
Level 6

They obviously didn't spend enough time looking over user shoulders of users who do have Appliances.

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=DOC7350

Page 35 is the override.  And yes, this will be one of the first things I do once I upgrade to 2.6.0.2.  When I am on my Appliances 99% of the time I'm executing commands that need to be done as root.

SymTerry
Level 6
Employee Accredited

Hello,

Access to the root account through SSH and the maintenance account has been blocked in 2.6.0.2. because this change improves the overall security of the appliance. SCSP was also included for further security. Just out of curiosity, why else would you need root access to the appliance? The CLISH will configure everything you need and non-root SSH to the appliance should give you everything else.

Just as a side note, only Symantec Support engineers or partners are authorized to override the security policy to gain access to the root account. They may need to do so for several reasons; for example, to resolve a support case. Any unauthorized overrides or disabling of the security policy puts the system in serious risk and voids the warranty and Symantec Support. (As mentioned in HOWTO95668)

D_Flood
Level 6

The menu system is only good for reboots and downloading patches (unless you have a bandwidth challenged site then you have to push it out there a chunk at a time and then combine it from the command line).

You can't run a --processqueue or a --compactstart or a --dsstat or a --dsstat 1 from the menus.