cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup to Tape

A_M_Ash_
Level 6

We have been doing standard Backups to disk,  now my company  need to take a full backup from Application on tapes (to archive all files ) . They want Tapes to be send offsite, my company will be picking up the tapes.

How can this be setup in NetBackup so that  tapes are pulled for the full backup to be sent offsite?

I need command - cli - to load tapes to tape drive slot at tape library then unload these tapes to take them offsite

Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to all of this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Jeff_Foglietta
Level 5
Partner Accredited Certified

The best way to do this is to use Netbackup Vault to manage the offsite copies. Create your vault storage unit and policy per the Admin guide and thats all you need to do. Netbackup will manage the the tapes, eject the tapes from the robot for you, create reports on which tapes need to be sent offsite and which tapes are expired and will be returning for re-use. This is a perfect solution to what you are looking to accomplish.

Netbackup Vault has been bundled in Netbackup since version 4.5. No additional license is necessary. Ready for you to configure.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

Jeff_Foglietta
Level 5

The best way to do this is to use Netbackup Vault to manage the offsite copies. Create your vault storage unit and policy per the Admin guide and thats all you need to do. Netbackup will manage the the tapes, eject the tapes from the robot for you, create reports on which tapes need to be sent offsite and which tapes are expired and will be returning for re-use. This is a perfect solution to what you are looking to accomplish.

Netbackup Vault has been bundled in Netbackup since version 4.5. No additional license is necessary. Ready for you to configure.

A_M_Ash_
Level 6