cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bare Metal Restore Boot Servers

gumbo
Level 4
I'm new to backup and restore so bare with me. :) I'm using NetBackup 7.0 with BMR on a Windows machine and I'm having trouble understanding where the boot server should be installed and how much space does it needs. From my understanding, with NBU 7.0 the boot server can reside on it's own seperate machine, or it can reside on the same machine as the master server since it doesn't need a dedicated server. In the BMR admin guide, it states "A client may also be a server for other applications or data, a NetBackup media server, or a BMR boot server." However, if the client and boot server were on the same machine, how is the BMR restore image/configuration fetched if the client (which is also the boot server) goes down? How large a space should be allocated to a boot server? Since BMR is capable of network restores and media restores, it appears not a lot of space needs to be allocated since it's possible to access a SRT from a CD. In that case, would it be wise to allocate only a small portion of machine to be a BMR boot server or is it recommended that the boot server resides on a dedicated machine with the master server? Lastly, this has nothing to do with boot servers but my understanding is a little fuzzy so if someone can help me clear it up, that would be great. The BMR master server should be installed in the same machine with the NBU master server, which is installed with NBU server software. The client must individually be installed with NBU client software. Since these two components are on different machines, what establishes the connection between them? Thanks!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mandar_khanolka
Level 6
Employee

However, if the client and boot server were on the same machine, how is the BMR restore image/configuration fetched if the client (which is also the boot server) goes down?