cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Variables be passed to netbackup

new_user_netbac
Level 3

Hello all,

I work as a DBA and have NO vizibility into the netbackup Piece.  The only vizibility that i have from Netbackup end is console where i can manually kick of the backup.  But my questions is with regards to passing in a variable.  Currently we have net backup setup (Veritas NetBackup for Oracle - Release 7.1) and the netbackup Admin said netbackup CANNOT take any variables... so lets say i have 2 database on my server, then i need 2 scripts for it....currently netbackup take the below script(backup_DB1.ksh) and that script in truns call another script(rman_backup.ksh) which passes in the variable(DB1)...and then same for DB2

$ cat backup_DB1.ksh
#!/bin/ksh
/oracle/scripts/rman_backup.ksh DB1
$
$ cat backup_DB2.ksh
#!/bin/ksh
/oracle/scripts/rman_backup.ksh DB2
$

The reason why this is a problem, we have a server that has 20 Database on it, so we have to create 20 scripts for netbackup to call....if netbackup can take variables in then we would old need to call rman_backup.ksh script and netbackup can pass the DB name as variables....So i wanted to find out if what was said to me was true (as netbackup cannot take variables) or we are just missing some info.  This seems like a really simple request to ask from a tool like netbackup.

7 REPLIES 7

Will_Restore
Level 6

bpstart_notify script, example on the Master Server under netbackup/bin/goodies

# Parameters passed are:
CLIENTNAME="$1"
POLICYNAME="$2"
SCHEDNAME="$3"
SCHEDTYPE="$4"

also described in this old thread: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/bpstartbpendnotify-script-and-multistreaming-about-do...

watsons
Level 6

I think it's possible, but if you call Netbackup support, they won't do it for you. as they don't create/modify script for you.