cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change Journal , track log , Accelerator and media side dedupe

adamt078
Level 3

Hi guys ,

I am a newbie to netbackup and trying to understand a couple of things . I am in the process of backing up a server2012 client file server 3.5TB in size and have Media side dedupe congfigured  as client side not yet supported in Netbbackup 7.5.0.6

I however have track logs and change journal and accelerator enabled .

Now

1)  with Media side dedupe  enabled i guess that will send all the data (3.5TB) accross to the media server each time the backup runs and will then be deduped on the Media server ?? 

2) so what exactly will the  track logs and change journal and accelerator enabled do ?

3) what is the best configuration setting i should be using to get the data backed up correctly and in good time making use of all the ?

once again am a newbie:)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

If it cannot use the change journal it will still use the track log if it can

To corrected it and get even better rates again you would need to run a forced re-scan schedule again  - that being a "real" full backup which will obviously take much longer

If it wasn't using accelerator it would tell you so in the details of the job so it looks like it is still using it but wont be as fast as when CJ is also available

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Nicolai
Partner    VIP   

Client side dedupe and accelerator is two different thing.

1: You are right - but with accelerator enabled only entire changed files will be transferred. With client side dedupe only unique block within the file would be transferred.

2: To detect the changed files without reading the entire file system (potential million of files).

3:Using client side dedupe and accelerator, and specify ALL_LOCAL_DRIVES as file directive(VERY VERY high level).

adamt078
Level 3