cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Media Written Report

casperinmd
Level 2

Hello all,

I used to be able to use the free version of NOM to create this report, but seeing as how Symantec decided to remove that free report from the free version of OpsCenter, I don't know of any other way to get this report out of Netbackup 7.0.1.

Plain and simply, I want to be able to tell the Helpdesk what tapes to pull after a monthly backup.

Thanks for any pointers.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6

I have a unix master so I set this up in cron to run in the morning at a time I know backups are done.

You could put it in the parent end notify to run after your catalog runs in the morning when you know all your backups are done (you would want if statements in there so it only ran after the catalog was done)

#!/bin/ksh

# Netbackup tape written report

/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpimagelist -A -media -hoursago 20 > /opt/openv/scripts/temp/tapeswritten.out

mail -s "MYdomain Tapes Written Report" someonewhocares@domain.com < /opt/openv/scripts/temp/tapeswritten.out

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6

I have a unix master so I set this up in cron to run in the morning at a time I know backups are done.

You could put it in the parent end notify to run after your catalog runs in the morning when you know all your backups are done (you would want if statements in there so it only ran after the catalog was done)

#!/bin/ksh

# Netbackup tape written report

/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpimagelist -A -media -hoursago 20 > /opt/openv/scripts/temp/tapeswritten.out

mail -s "MYdomain Tapes Written Report" someonewhocares@domain.com < /opt/openv/scripts/temp/tapeswritten.out

Deepak_G
Level 6
Certified

You can run a loop using the bpimagelist command and get the list ofo media used for a specific backup policy

#!/bin/ksh