cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrate Netbackup 5.1 to 7.6

selvinjjj
Level 3

HI Guys,

Am currently using netbackup 5.1MP6 with windows server 2003,now am planning to migrate to netbackup 7.6 with windows server 2008.

Here is my question

1)what are the steps i need to folllow

2)If the installations is done can i have a option to export all the policies from old server to new server.

kinldy help me on this.

Thanks

selvin S

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I am a bit concerned about this statement:

NOTE: I am Very new to this netbackup enviroment .........

If you are new to NBU and you do not have a senior colleague to learn from, you should not attempt this on your own.

If you are working with a Symantec reseller who offers assistance on a consulting basis, it would be worth every cent to pay for about 1 day's worth of services to work out the best procedure for you and assist you in getting started. Or more days for the partner to assist you with the entire process.

If you had a look at the recent post that I have referenced above:
https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/migrating-veritas-51-symantec-71 

You will see that I have outlined 2 possible ways to go about:

1. LENGTHY step-by-step upgrade process that will guarantee that all existing config is kept and all valid, unexpired backups will remain intact. 
    (I am about to assist a customer with this on consulting basis...)
  2. Start with clean installation on new master server (new name, new config, new policies) and import tapes on new master. You will need to keep the old master around until all unexpired tapes have been imported on the new master.
    Important that you add tapes from old master to a separate pool that will never be used for backups (e.g. OLD-MASTER) to prevent them from being overwritten before you get a chance to import them.