cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup client software installation

jsnow0445
Level 0

Hi Everyone 

I am very new to this Veritas NetBackup technology and trying to understand how this backup thing works . I just installed Linux based Netbackup 5250 ( 4.0 version ) hardware server in our environment. Master and Media are on single server. I am accessing this hardware server by installing Java Remote Console software (9.1.0.1)  on my windows laptop. I have to take backups of some of our Linux based VMs on that hardware 5250. Can someone please tell me if I have to install any client Netbackup client software on all of these Linux based VMs ? as right now when I tried to select the client in a backup policy ,  it shows me no option and I am seeing only my laptop so I am wandering if i have to install any Netbackup client software on all these VM machines in order to make them connect to my hardware 5250 Veritas device so that I can select the respective machine and their respective directories of whom i want to take backup ? 

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2

Michal_Mikulik1
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hello,

follow the guidelines in NetBackup for VMware Admin Guides, these docs are publicly googleable/available. Simple answer is that you dont need backup SW within VMs, but there are some exceptions, like VMs with backed up DBs.

I also recommend you to take some basic training, self-study is not an optimal approach for NetBackup.

Michal

DPeaco
   VIP