cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restoring VMware Files and Folders with No Agents (Windows)

jmanini
Level 4

We have a pretty large environment and are now finally moving to doing VMware backups. We currently are using Windows 2008 R2, NetBackup 7.5.0.4. In the past we had an agent on each server so it was easy for the different server admins to do their own file level restores. So now we are testing the VMware backups which works real well and as a NetBackup admin I can easily restore the entire VMDK or a single file from the Master Server by using the Backup, Archive, and Restore GUI Client. So I was pondering on how going forward can we allow our Admins to do their file level or possible VMDK level restores when there are no agents on the boxes? My thought nwas to install the NetBackup client on a terminal server and allow the admins to do alternate client restores from there but it seems to only allow them to restore data to the terminal server only and not the server in question. The Destination Client for Restores in greyed out as seen by the attachment. So am I not able to do this and what are the masses doing with this same issue?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RLeon
   VIP   

The altnames feature should do exactly what you are dreaming about.
Please look under the title About allowing a single client to perform redirected restores in the Nbu admin guide.

Suppose your terminal server hostname is term1, create the following file on the master server (not folder, and without extensions such as .txt):

Install_path\NetBackup\db\altnames\term1

Use notepad to add to this ASCI-format file the names of the VMs - as cataloged from the VMware backup jobs - one name per line; upper/lower case matters.

Effectively, you will be granting term1 permission to restore other clients' files (in your case, the VMs').
The Destination client field on term1 should become editable.