Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable To Overwrite Tapes

djoaquin
Level 3

Hell All,

I am new to Netbackup.  We have moved over from Arcserve.  Here is our setup:

-NBU 6.5 on Linux serve.

-This server is the master server and media server.

-I backup 4 client servers to one attached LTO4 drive.  It is a stand alone drive.

-The 4 policies all run at the same time and are multiplexed to the drive.

-All policies are set to 1 Week retention

-I remove the tape nightly and then put in the next days tape. The tapes re-used once a week.

-All of these tapes are part of the same volume pool.

The problem I am having is the jobs seem to be appending and not overwriting. After a few backups the tape becomes full.  I know it should not be because I am only backing up about 220GB and that drive does 800GB native/1.6TB compressed.

Since the policy is set to 1 week retention, shouldn't it be overwritten when I put in that tape again on the same day the following week?  I have checked the catalog and only see the previous nights backups listed.  So it looks to me like the previous weeks jobs were expired.

Do I have something wrong in my setup?  Have I missed the option to say overwrite the tape?

I would be happy to give more detail on the jobs if you need it.

Thanks for the help,

Daniel Joaquin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

djoaquin
Level 3

Bingo!  I found a way to do it.

Under the Master Server properties there are Retention Period settings.  I changed Retention Level 0 to 6 days instead of 1 week.  I belive this should cause the backups to expire the day before they are used again.

I will let everyone know if this works next week after they run though again.

Daniel

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

djoaquin
Level 3

Ok.  I have a theory.  Can someone tell me if it could be right?