cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

backup Windows File Server through SAN

D__C_
Level 2
I am new to the SAN world. I wonder if this can be done.
We plan to run NetBackup on a Linux or Windows server that connect to the LAN and SAN.
An ExaGrid (can be consider as local tape driv) is connect directly to the NetBackup.
And the Windows File Server is connected to both LAN and SAN.
A NetApp filer is connected to both LAN and SAN. The filer will be the main storage for the Windows File Server.
When do backup to the ExaGrid, the normal pass of the data travel from Filer to WFS through SAN, then to NetBackup through LAN then to ExaGrid.
Is it possible to have the data go directly from Filer to NetBackup though SAN?

__________________________ LAN
       |                      |                    |
NetBackup      WFS           NetApp
      |  |________|_________|______ SAN
      |
ExaGrid

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
The tape library will have to be connected to the SAN as well.

Good reading matter is the Shared Storage Admin Guide:
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/290238.htm

As well as NBU for NDMP Admin Guide:
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/290205.htm

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Marianne
Level 6
The tape library will have to be connected to the SAN as well.

Good reading matter is the Shared Storage Admin Guide:
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/290238.htm

As well as NBU for NDMP Admin Guide:
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/290205.htm

D__C_
Level 2
Thanks.
However, ExaGrid is not really a tape drive. It is harddisk based. (And somewhere in the literature it says it acts like tape drive to NetBackup.) And the instuction is that it needs to attached directly to the NetBakup server through bundled GigE (no FC support.).

Marianne
Level 6