cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to add a media

frances0827
Level 3
Hi to all,

Im a newbie on autoloader and would like to seek help on adding a new media.

We have an Autoloader with 16 slots and medias. Due to the 3 months retention on my monthly backups assigned to 9 tapes, all the 7 medias left (used for daily inc and weekly full)  gets full. Now, what i wanted is to be able remove/eject a media which is already full and replace it with a new media. And since its a new media, it should be read as an available media for backup. Is this possible???

I tried replacing a full media with a new meida, then do an inventory, but my NBU doesnt recognize the newly placed tape as new.

inputs please..... 

9 REPLIES 9

Robert_Minser
Level 4
Are you using barcoded media?
If not, I highly reccomend you start using barcoded. It makes adding and changing media faster and easier. 
If so.
Your new tape will usually go into the NetBackup media pool.
If you are using media pools for your backups you should be able to right click on the tape and select change and put the media into the desired pool.  

frances0827
Level 3
thank you for that reply....

im not using a barcode reader as of the moment but my autoloader has it. i will explore using the reader in the future.

now, back to my question, i understand that a media goes to a media pool. but, what im trying to say it that... lets say i have a media with media ID  A00001 in slot 1 that is full or no longer avail for backup. What i wanted is to be able to eject the media A00001 from slot 1, then place a new media in slot 1 and that new media be recognized as a new MEDIA avail for backup, like a new media ID will be given to the newly inserted tape so the system can recognized it as a different media from the previous media placed in the same slot.

is this possible? inputs pls......

zippy
Level 6
what is the model of the autoloader?

Ron_Cohn
Level 6