Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

network read failed (42)

HardikPatel
Level 3

hi
i am facing some problem in veritas netbackup 6.5.2
i have 3 servers which are configured as media server.
now one server with windows platform is not getting backed up from past 2 days
and giving error code 42 network read failed

i checked network settings and host files
ping test from host to server and vice versa.

and i checked some log and in bpdbm log file i found msg that is
db_valid_master_server: tcsc-ads.tcsckandla.com is not a valid server

plase provide help with this issue
i am new to veritas netbackup.

Thanx

7 REPLIES 7

Twinkle_Sapra
Level 5
Certified
1. Have you checked with bpclntcmd and telnet to bpcd ?

2. Check the bpbkar logs at server where backup is failing  and find the ( 10053,10054,10055). If found , problem indicates to network issue. 

3. Check the duplex setting of server(being backed up )

Andy_Welburn
Level 6
There are a few possible reasons, but I tend towards Twinkles response - either name resolution or connectivity issues:

Try the usual (in all directions if possible e.g. client>master, master>client):
telnet ... etc
ping ... etc
nslookup <client or master name>  [do this twice in-case of duplicate entries]
nslookup <client or master ip> [do this twice in-case of duplicate entries]
bpclntcmd  DOCUMENTATION: Explanation of bpclntcmd options, the system calls being used, and recommended troubl...

There's also the possibility (?) that the media server in question has been removed from the servers tab in the masters config:

STATUS CODE 42: When a backup is attempting to write to a remote media server, a NetBackup Status 42...

Android
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified
If this weren't previously working I would lean toward checking the "Media Servers" and "Additional Servers" list in the host properties of the master server.  You may still want to look into this it's entirely possible it was removed somehow.