cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what is the difference between snapshot and backup?

gkman
Level 5

Hello,

this subject has probably been disccused quite extensively, but I am still not able to understand it.

I am familiar with the concept of snapshots from netapp storage system, but I cannot figure out what they mean in netbackup. 

I am new to netbackup, and looking through the activity monitor I see many jobs type of snapshot and right after a backup job. both belong to the same policy.

what is the difference between snapshot and backup? are they different types of backups or are they part of the same process? 

please explain in short preferably a dummy friendly explanation (please don't refer me to another 1000 page pdf, i'v read about three of those these past weeks) 

all help is deeply appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

Q1) so if I understand correctly, snapshots aren't acctually a netbackup process but rather a host (vmware, hyper-v) feature netbackup triggers as part of it's backup process?

A1) yes

Q2) does this happen only for virtual machines and not physical servers?

A2) I would expect it to happen for any "VM style" backup (in ESX (via VADP) and Hyper-V (via VSS)).  For physical, typically yes (via VSS) for "file system style" backups of Windows, typically no for "file system style" Unix/Linux, and typically yes for "database agent" style backups via internal database mechanisms within the database "application software" (i.e. MS SQL, Oracle, MS Exchange, etc...).

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

sdo

Maybe this may help:

http://www.computerweekly.com/feature/Backup-vs-replication-snapshots-CDP-in-data-protection-strategy

...and this old post, but the VSS principles are still relevant (ignore about VSP, which is no longer relevant):

https://www.veritas.com/community/forums/snapshot-explanation

sdo