cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A problem rhat should be addressed in VSR 23.1 (and older versions)

CQ
Level 5

Hi,

I work in a shop that exclusively uses Dell desktop and laptop computers.  As most of you know, generally several partitions are configured.  Examples would be a drive recovery image partition, various support partitions, etc.  Dell has a habit of leaving little room in some of their partitions.  In some cases, that makes a VSS Snapshot impossible.  In such cases, you either need to expand the partitions or make a separate independent image of the partitions.  As a habit, I have VSR send me emails of errors, successful images, etc.  For recovery points, I do an image every day and create a  new recovery point set  twice a month.  For the daily, incremental images, I count how many emails I receive from VSR.  When all is well, I receive the same number every day.  This assures me all was imaged properly,  Recently, I noticed my email was short one message.  Upon further investigation, I found that VSR stopped making an image of the Dell Support partition.  Turns out, a Dell upgrade I ran to that partition made it impossible to use VSS anymore because of inadequate free space.. Two days of images ignored the partition AFTER I had done Dell updates.  I am sure other computer brands might have similar issues.

The problem:

VSR did not warn me in ANYWAY that the job was no longer imaging that partition.  No email or any pop up error when the job runs. The job just ran normally.  If I had not caught it, the problem would have continued.  I found 1 job on a different pc where a partition had not been imaged for over 230 days because a VSS snapshot would no longer run because of free space issues.  When I opened job settings, VSR immediately told me about the partition that lacked space for a VSS Snapshot.  Easy enough to fix IF I knew about it.