cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BESR 8.5 Desktop Edition - purging rec. points?

MIXIT
Level 6
Partner Accredited
Hi all,

I'm attempting to evaluate the Desktop Edition of this product for deployment to a network with XP machines and my testing is currently on just one of those PCs, with a locally attached Iomega REV (USB) 35GB drive. 

Also, I've never used BESR before so am using the trial version which appears to be fully functional but I'm not seeing any settings anywhere that specify to purge/delete older backup files (reocvery points).  I've been running it for a few days now, so on the REV disk it's showing a few files...*.v2i which appear to be the base (full backup) files, *.iv2i which are variable sized and appear to be the Incremental files, and a single *.sv2i which is probably some kind of catalog file (?).  But space on this removable disk is almost out, so I wonder how it will behave when it does run out?  

I've been through all the settings in defining the backup job and read their corresponding meanings in the user guide but still find myself unsure of how this software manages disk space. 

Bottom line:  Will it get rid of an older backup file once it knows the newer file needs to be written?  Or will something else happen, such as a prompt for new media or perhaps just an error saying the disk is full?  

In case there is a potential workaround or something that somebody can suggest, the intended backup schedule is simply a Monday to Friday daily backup (Dailly Full would be ideal), where the user has 5 "tapes" (REV disks) and will put Monday's tape in on Monday, Tuesday's tape on Tuesday, etc., and not have to worry about backup file management.  There's no archive backups being done, they just need to be able to get back to one of the previous 5 days if a restore is needed.