cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dell utility partition

batman
Level 3
I'm fairly new to this product but I've now got over 120 desktop clients and 10 servers running but appear to only have have problems with desktops that have a Dell Utility partition (5 so far). The error in the local client log is-

"Cannot create recovery points for job : Tuesday Backups. The Internal structure of the image file (PQI_HEADER_OR_CRC_ERROR) is invalid, damaged or unsupported."

I've still got more clients to add but i know some of these will be Dell workstations and i expect i will encounter the same problem.

Any ideas?

Regards
14 REPLIES 14

RBall
Level 5
I do not backup the Dell utility partition and I don't monitor it. It is simple enough to get back from the original Dell Disks and I rarely use it anyway.

/RB

batman
Level 3
I forgot to mention that I'm not selecting to backup the dell partition, I'm only backing up the C:\ and D:\ on desktop clients.

when i look at the properties of the suspect desktop and click on drives the dell utility is displayed but its status is "Not reported" and the last backup and next backup fields are blank.

David_F
Level 6
Employee Accredited
The ED800012 CRC error is currently being looked into, some headway has been made with the 8.03 / 8.5 release, but there are still some instances that this error is still occuring. Please note after updating to this new build if you are still having the same error.

galbraithr
Level 3
I have BESR 8.03 and get the same problem with the Dell's. Am trying to find out if the 8.5 version is a downloadable free upgrade or a seperate purchase!

PeterMac_2
Level 3
Partner

8.5 is a "new" version and costs money unless it's under your support agreement.

Easier way is to remove the diag partition.

David_F
Level 6
Employee Accredited