cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

B2D, offsite replication, then redirected restore

Ahmad54
Level 3

Hi,

I'm new to Backup Exec, and my boss wants me to implement a backup plan using Symantec Backup Exec. We have 3 ESX servers in our HQ main office with 16 VMs that we would like to protect. One of the VMs is Exchange 2010. We should be able to do GRT-enabled restore from that Exchange VM. We are going to use disk storage as a backup destination. We also want to have offsite backup, to our DR site. There will be another 3 servers there that will sit as standby ESX servers, so in case the servers in the HQ site fail, we just power on the VMs on the standby ESX servers in the DR site. We have a disk storage there too. The two sites are connected using a limited WAN connection.

I tried to read about how to do that, but I need some help just to make sure that I get it right and nothing goes wrong when I do it. Please correct me if I'm wrong:

For the licenses that we should buy for the main office:

1- Buy a license for BE2012 media server. We will install the media server on a new VM.
2- To be able to do GRT-restores, we'll have to buy Agent for Applications and Databases and install it on the Exchange 2010 VM (the Exchange vm itself?! - admin guide page 788). We will have to install Agent for Windows on the Exchange 2010 VM (admin guide pages 780/788/853).
3- Buy 3 license for Agent for Hyper-V and VMware since we have ESX servers.
4- Buy a license for Deduplication option, to save space on the storage.
5- Buy a license for Enterprise option, to enable CASO to communicate with another BE2012 media server on the DR site (to use optimized dedupe).

For the DR site, we need to purchase the following:

1- Buy a license for BE2012 media server and install BE2012 on a new VM.
2- Buy 3 license for Agent for Hyper-V and VMware and install one on each standby ESX server.

Then here comes the configuration steps: