cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie - BE 2010 Setup

WorldBuilder
Level 4

Hi all,

OK, so with the help of some fine folks here in this forum, I have gotten mt backup system ready to go.

• HP DL380 G4 server running Windows Server 2008 R2
  • BackupExec 2010 R2
  • A StorageTek L20 with 2 LTO2 drives in it
  • It's all installed and, as best I can tell, configured properly.

Ready?  Set?  Go!

Well, wait...  I don't know what I'm doing!  LOL!  OK, that's not entirely true, but God knows I have NO experience with BE 2010 and it's been several years since I played with ANY form of BE.  Back then, I took it over from someone else and certainly didn't build it from scratch like I must do now.

Anyway, I have loaded 14 tapes (with labels) into the L20.  I have also loaded a cleaning tape into the "cleaning slot", but that tape has no label.  The admin panel of the L20 sees all the media just fine.

So on to BackupExec itself.  Here's the bottom line.  I have to backup:

1. Domain Controller - Active Directory on Server 2008 R2 x64
  2. E-Mail - Exchange 2010 on Server 2008 R2 x64
  3. Two file servers (one is Server 2008 R2 x64 and the other is Server 2003 32-bit)
  4. Application Server - Running a few school-specific apps.  Will eventually run SQL Server 2008 Standard , but for right now simply has a "Lite" version of SQL 2005 installed by the app that needs it.  I know almost nothing about SQL...  Running on Server 2003 32-bit.
  5. ReadAbout - A "server" (basically just a really powerful PC) that runs ONE app called "ReadAbout".  It's a self-contained app requiring no database or anything.  So my guess is that it will need to be backed up like a file server...  It's running Server 2003.
  6. This "backup" server, which is running Server 2008 R2 x64.  This is the box BE 2010 is running on.