cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Space issue on CASO server Backup exec version 12.5

pkvyas1983
Level 4

Hi Experts,

I am new to Backup exec, We are ussing Backup Exec 12.5 in our environment.

We are facing disk space issue on CAS(centerlized) server where all MMS's Device & Media database is replicated. BE database & Catalogs of MMS server stored localy but as per properties of MMS server Device & Media database catalogs are stored on Central Admin server (F:\Catalogs\).

On ALL three MMS server under Catalog option-truncate catalog after setting are set for 6 Month, under database maintenance option Job & alert history set for 90 days .

CAS server Catalog option-truncate catalog after setting are set for 8 Month, under database maintenance option Job & alert history set for 365 days.

Earlier this setting was 999 days, We have changed the setting from 999 to 365 under database mantenanace setting but no result. Still we are facing the disk space issue on central admin server.

Database mantance is running on 4 am everyday on MMS server & CAS.

Could you someone assist me how to resolve this issue? Or I can manually delete the old log files from CAS server.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkvyas1983
Level 4

Hi VJ & Craig,

Thanks for your help, I will try to resolve the issue as per your suggession.

With Regards

Pradeep

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Consider lowering the retention period for job & alerts. Likewise for catalog truncation.

Other alternatives are to change the catalog location from centralized to either distributed or replicated.

Deleting older catalogs would be problematic only if you have to restore something from that data & then you would have to recatalog the media. Another option is to move the catalogs to another disk with more available space. You can safely delete older job logs/alerts as well.

pkvyas1983
Level 4

Hi VJware,