cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape library - robotic arm does not move.

Thias
Level 3
 Hi there!
First I should say, this is my first try with the BackupExec-Software. I downloaded the evaluation copy 2 days ago. (version 12.5)
I am currently trying to install my "new" Grau Infinistore L8 tape library. As it is not directly supported by Symantec, it has a built in simulation for the ADIC scalar1000 (and the exabyte X200 also - if that helps). 
I configured the 2 tapedrives (Sony AIT-2) to be part of the Library and everything looks nice. The only problem is: whatever I try to do, the robotic arm does not move...
Perhaps I should explain a little bit more. The robotic arm is connected to one SCSI-LVD-Card (ID 5) , the 2 AIT-drives to another (HVD) SCSI-Card (IDs 0 and 1). Windows2000 recognizes the two drives correctly. The library is shown as "Changer". I did not install any drivers for it as I think, they come with Backup Exec, right?
Backup exec showed me one ADIC1000-Changer with 2 "unknown" Drives and 92 Slots. It also recognized the full slots and the barcodes correctly. I then configured the lib with the help of the assistant so the two drives are now part of the lib. If I now try to delete on of the tapes, nothing happens. The log says something like "wrong parameter - Sony 1". All the same if I try a inventory run.
What can I do?

I should also mention, that the hardware itself is working. The software I tryed before BackupExec (EMC2 Retrospect) was able to move the tapes between the slots - only it had no possibility to configure the separately connected drives correctly.

Regards
Thias
7 REPLIES 7

Hemant_Jain
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Backup Exec does not support emulated robotic libraries. So, as i see this library is emulating as ADIC, it is not going to be supported by Backup Exec.

Thanks

Thias
Level 3