cancel
Showing results forΒ 
Search instead forΒ 
Did you mean:Β 

Unable to attach to "server" - device specific error

and_rew
Not applicable
Hi,

I am getting this error message and I have been trying to resolve it for a couple of days without success.

I use Backup Exec 7.3 on an NT4 server and I need to back up the data on HP-UX server. The directory that I want to backup on the HP-UX server is shared out via SAMBA. I know it is possible to back up this data because I successfully backed it up a month ago. I cannot recall that any changes have been made to hardware or software since the last successful backup. I am relatively new to BuE. I have read many documents from the BuE support site and many threads in the forums but nothing has helped so far, so any suggestions you can offer would be very much appreciated.

The backup job starts and runs for about 30 seconds before failing. There are some warning events ("3006", "Rdr") logged in the NT Event Viewer (message "The redirector received an SMB that was too short") but this was also the case during the last successful backup, so I do not think this is the problem.

The HP-UX directory that I need to backup is defined as a BuE "User-Defined Share" and I can drill down through its sub-directories in Backup Selections tab without problems. The HP-UX directory is shared out via SAMBA and is publicly accessible to everybody, with root access.