cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can a Service Group in VCS have multiple Databases in them?

sparmar
Level 3
Hello All
I'm new to Veritas Cluster Server, so please bear with me.
My question is: Can a Service Group in VCS have multiple Databases in them? Would I need a separate Virtual IP address for each of the listeners, or can I use just one IP for the whole Service Group?

Many Thanks
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Here's the link to all SF/HA docs for version 5.0 for Linux:
http://sfdoccentral.symantec.com/Storage_Foundation_HA_50_Linux.html
The Oracle Guide is called Cluster Server Agent for Oracle Installation and Configuration Guide.

You will find examples of Service Groups in this manual. Best if each Instance has not only its own volumes, but also its own diskgroup. This will enable you to create separate Service Groups with each Instance functioning independant of other instances, allowing you to online, offline, switch Instances without affecting other database instances. In the event of a failure, the entire SG needs to be offlined on the active node and brought online on the 2nd node.

If you have SF/HA for Oracle license key, the Oracle agent is included by default.
The manual will tell how where to find the agent on your install media and how to install it.
If you upgrade to version 5.1, all database agents are included with SF/HA license.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Gaurav_S
   VIP    Certified
Hello,

Yes, you can configure multiple database in one service group, no worries, VCS supports it.

Depending on your configuration you can use one or more virtual IP address.

If your listener (with any Virtual IP) is serving 2 database, you can configure same listener & only one virtual IP in a service group with 2 oracle instances.

Hope this answers your query..

Gaurav

sparmar
Level 3

That's great.