Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1mb size and above emails are not getting vaulted for perticular user

AAT
Level 2

Issue:

email of the size of 14 MB is not getting vaulted
user has tried it for the last 3 days and it did not work

We are having Exchange 2007 and Enterprise Vault version is 8.0.5, we have 6 Enterprise vault server with 6 mailbox servers configured to that, Exchange maibox server is clustered envirnment.

Troubleshooting done till now:

we have run the Sync on the EV server for the perticular user mailbox, enabled and disabled the user EV mailbox, ran the manul archiving on the server side with report mode and checked it had some 254 items to vault, emails got vaulted next day but they were all below 1 mb, more than 1mb emais were there in pending vault status.

till now its in same status, please any one help me from this, there are many issues with me.

i am having bulk of issues in EV, i am new to this EV an di dont know how to resolve.

Thanks

AAT

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JesusWept3
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

If EV is in backup mode, no items can be archived
If its After Backup then the DVS file and the DVSSP file would both need their Archive Bit removed from the physical file to show that the DVS file has been backed up , then after EV has scanned the partition, found that the items have been "Backed up" it will switch from a pending icon to a fully archived item

So when a large email is archived, it splits it up between the Email itself, and the attachment.
The email is stored as a DVS file, and the attachment is stored as a DVSSP file

So if i send 1000 people a 1MB PDF file and they all archive it, you end up with 1000 x DVS files (each individual email) and 1 x 1MB DVSSP (maybe smaller after compression)

However if all 1000 DVS files are backed up, the archive bit is removed, BUT the DVSSP (attachment) has NOT been backed up (the archive bit remains) then the items will remain in a Pending state.